Squad named for World Cup opener

Ireland Head Coach Ged Corcoran has named his 19-man squad that will take on Jamaica in the Wolfhounds’ first game of the Rugby League World Cup 2021.

The match takes place on Sunday, 16th October at Headingley Stadium in Leeds, with kick-off scheduled for 5pm.

There could be as many as ten debuts for the senior Irish men’s international team on Sunday; with Richie Myler, Innes Senior, Luke Keary, Josh Cook, Jaimin Jolliffe, James McDonnell, Harry Rushton, Brendan O’Hagan, Dan Norman and Innes Senior all named in the 19-man declaration.

George King will lead the Wolfhounds out at Headingley for his second World Cup as captain, with Sydney Roosters’ playmaker Luke Keary as vice-captain.

Ireland’s 19-man squad vs Jamaica

1. Richie Myler
3. Ed Chamberlain
4. Toby King
5. Innes Senior
6. Luke Keary
7. Joe Keyes
8. Liam Byrne
9. Josh Cook
10. Jaimin Jolliffe
11. James Bentley
12. Frankie Halton
13. George King (C)
14. James McDonnell
15. Harry Rushton
16. Brendan O’Hagan
17. Dan Norman
20. Louis Senior
21. Ronan Michael
22. James Hasson

The full squad numbers for the tournament have been assigned by Corcoran, as is required as part of the Rugby League World Cup 2021 tournament rules.

Captain George King will don the thirteen shirt which he also wore twice during the 2017 tournament, Leeds Rhinos star Richie Myler will wear the number one shirt, and Luke Keary has been given the number six.

Men’s Squad Numbers for the Rugby League World Cup 2021

1. Richie Myler, 2. Keenan Brand, 3. Ed Chamberlain, 4. Toby King, 5. Innes Senior, 6. Luke Keary, 7. Joe Keyes, 8. Liam Byrne, 9. Josh Cook, 10. Jaimin Jolliffe, 11. James Bentley, 12. Frankie Halton, 13. George King (C), 14. James McDonnell, 15. Harry Rushton, 16. Brendan O’Hagan, 17. Dan Norman, 18. Henry O’Kane, 19. Robbie Mulhern, 20. Louis Senior, 21. Ronan Michael, 22. James Hasson, 23. Michael Ward, 24. Ben Mathiou

Support Rugby League Ireland

Select your donation amount below and support Rugby League Ireland
& get access to exclusive content, articles and giveaways.